HomeAbout UsCampaigns & VictoriesMedia & ResourcesJobs
Site Search
BEN Conference  »  BENNY Awards  »  View 2007 Awards   »  2007 Path to Victory Award Nominees­

View 2007 Awards

Corporate Hall of Shame

Lead Group(s):

Corporate Accountability International

Support Group(s):  

Freedom from Oil Campaign
Global Exchange
Halliburton Watch
International Brotherhood of Teamsters
International Labor Rights Fund
Oil Change International
Polaris Institute
Wake-Up Wal-Mart

Description of the Problem the Campaign is seeking to address (50 word max):

Through the Corporate Hall of Shame, we and our allies exposed how Coke, ExxonMobil, Halliburton, Kimberly-Clark, Merck, Nestl, Ford and Wal-Mart use their political power and influence to inflict serious harm on people and the environment so that we can shame and organize them into stopping their abuses.

Brief Description of the Achievement(s) (30 word max):

Through online voting, webpage links, blogs and widespread media coverage, thousands of people were exposed to the corporate campaigns that our allies are leading to stop corporations abuse of human rights and our communities.  In turn, voters turned up the heat on the targeted eight nominated corporations.

Description of how this is an important step toward the Campaign's goals, and if applicable, how it shows innovation (150 word max):

We established the Hall of Shame more than a decade ago as concrete way for activists to express their concerns about dangerous corporate behavior and to help bring these corporate abusers to the negotiating table. This year, we re-launched the program as the Corporate Hall of Shame, with an eye toward reducing corporate power and supporting some of the groups and campaigns taking on industry leaders today.